DGSOM              UCLA /  DGSOM /  UCLA Mednet /  UCLA Healthcare /  Directory /  Search 
 Follow Us On

Statement on an Abuse-Free Environment

The David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA Statement on Supporting an Abuse-Free Academic Community

The David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA is committed to establishing and maintaining an environment in which every community member is enabled and encouraged to excel. This will happen only if all of us work in harmony, free of intimidation, exploitation, ridicule, and harassment. We must maintain a productive environment in which no individual is subject to discrimination or abuse. This statement should be read as consistent with and in conjunction with UCLA policies relating to harassment and discrimination.

Specific behaviors that are not acceptable include:

  • Sexual harassment, including unwelcome sexual advances or demands, either verbal or physical.
  • Using rejection to such advances as a basis for making academic or personnel decisions affecting an individual.
  • Discriminating on the basis of gender, race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, national origin, disability, or any other group characteristic.
  • Using power to interfere with the activities of another in a manner that is unrelated or counterproductive to the expectations and requirements of his or her position.
  • Creating an environment, through abusive behavior, in which the abilities of individuals to function professionally are negatively affected.

No person shall be subject to reprisal for using or participating either in an informal or formal complaint resolution process. It is incumbent on each and every one of us to support the maintenance of an abuse-free environment.

Gender and Power Abuse Committee

Each member of the Gender and Power Abuse Committee of the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA is trained to discuss your concerns with you informally and confidentially and to give you suggestions on how to resolve your situation and what resources are available to you.

Committee Members:

Joyce M. Fried, Chair
(310) 794-1958
jfried@mednet.ucla.edu

Kathleen Brown, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Radiology

(310) 825-9968

kbrown@mednet.ucla.edu

Jorge Cherbosque, Ph.D.
Co-Director, Staff and Faculty Counseling Center
(310) 794-0245
Jorge@chr.ucla.edu

Maure Gardner

Director, Compensation and Labor Relations

(310) 794-0523

mgardner@mednet.ucla.edu

Thomas Kosakowski
Ombudsperson for the Health Sciences
(310) 206-2427
tkosakowski@conet.ucla.edu

Mark Litwin, M.D

Chair, Department of Urology.
Faculty Advisor, Medical Gay and Lesbian Organization (MedGLO)
(310) 206-8183
mlitwin@mednet.ucla.edu

Karen Miotto, M.D.
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry

Chair, Medical Staff Health Committee
(310) 206-2782
kmiotto@mednet.ucla.edu

Neil Parker, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Graduate Medical Education
(310) 825-6281
nhparker@mednet.ucla.edu

Gregory Payne, Ph.D
Director, ACCESS Program

Professor  of Biological Chemistry
(310) 206-3121
gpayne@mednet.ucla.edu

Paula Stoessel, Ph.D.
Director, UCLA Mental Health Services for Physicians in Training
(310) 206-8976
pstoessel@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Office of Ombuds Services - CHS

Thomas Kosakowski, Associate Ombudsperson
52-025 CHS
(310) 206-2427
tkosakowski@conet.ucla.edu

Services for:

 

Faculty
Housestaff
Health Sciences Students and Trainees
Staff
Administrators

Services Available:

 

Complaint resolution
Negotiation and mediation
Information resource

Services are:

 

Confidential
Neutral
Independent
Informal

Hours:

By appointment
(310) 206-2427